Department of Labor and Revenue

Title - South Dakota Appraiser Certification Program

Continuing Education Provider Application

Courses offered to provide continuing education to appraisers require approval by the Secretary of the Department of Labor and Regulation. See Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:13:14 and Continuing Education Requirements for more information.

The Appraisal Foundation's seven-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice update course or its equivalent is the acceptable continuing education course.

To seek approval for a course to be offered, submit:

  1. Complete the uniform national education form available from the Association of Appraiser Regulatory Officials (ARRO) website.
  2. $50.00 fee per course (made payable to the Appraiser Certification Program).

Once the course has been reviewed, you will receive notification of approval or denial.

The term of course approval is three years. (It is the responsibility of the course provider to apply for approval of each course at the end of the three year term.)

Course providers shall provide each student with a course evaluation form upon completion of the course and shall tally the results of the evaluation forms onto one form. The course provider shall send the completed course evaluation forms and the tally to the Secretary of the Department of Labor and Regulation with 15 days of the course completion. (See Administrative Rule of South Dakota (ARSD) 20:14:13:14.)

For more information on the authorization of this approval process, see ARSD 20:14:13 and South Dakota Codified Law 36-21B.

Contact Us

Executive Director, Sherry Bren

South Dakota Appraiser Certification Program
308 South Pierre Street
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605.773.4608
Fax: 605.773.5405
email: appraisercertification@state.sd.us

 

 



Marcia Hultman, Secretary
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184