Department of Labor and Regulation

Title - News

For Immediate Release: Thursday, Sept. 5, 2013
Media Contact: Tony Venhuizen or Kelsey Pritchard, 605.773.3212

Secretary of Labor And Regulation to Retire

PIERRE, S.D. -- Gov. Dennis Daugaard announced today that Pam Roberts, Secretary of Labor and Regulation, will retire next month.

Roberts is the longest-tenured member of the Governor's cabinet. Five different governors appointed Roberts to cabinet-level roles beginning in 1989.

"Pam Roberts spent her career serving the people of South Dakota, working at high levels in the administrations of five governors," said Gov. Daugaard. "Pam will be very much missed, and I wish her all the best in the future."

Roberts joined the administration of Gov. Bill Janklow in 1979, first as an executive policy analyst and then as a special assistant to the governor. She stayed on in the office of Gov. George S. Mickelson, who appointed her as Commissioner of the Bureau of Personnel in 1989. Roberts continued as Commissioner in the administration of Gov. Walter Dale Miller. From 1995-2003, Roberts served as Gov. Janklow's chief of operations. Gov. Mike Rounds appointed Roberts as Secretary of Labor in 2003, and she took on an expanded role as Secretary of Labor and Regulation in the Daugaard Administration beginning in 2011.

"It's been an honor to serve the people of South Dakota," said Roberts. "I am proud of the accomplishments of the Department of Labor and Regulation over the past ten years and the hard work of our team."

Roberts' last day as Secretary will be Oct. 10.

The Governor has named Marcia Hultman, the department's deputy secretary, to serve as interim Secretary, if necessary, until a new Secretary is named.

- 30 -






Marcia Hultman, Secretary
123 W. Missouri Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-4505
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184